Whitby’s High Tea – James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor – REVIEW

Recently I had the pleasure of booking a high tea at the Whitby’s restaurant & bar with two of my lovely friends Rachel & Anna. There is absolutely nothing better than sitting inside on a cold, windy (it’s Wellington after all) and miserable day eating cake, pastries and delicious mango creme brûlée.
The Whitby’s Restaurant & Bar is located on the 17th floor of the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor which sits on the terrace, the restaurant itself has a wall of windows which overlooks Wellington in all it’s glory (harbour views!)  The ambiance of the Whitby’s Restaurant leaves a little to be desired but it is mainly used as a restaurant for the guests of the James Cook Hotel, it has a  kind of conference vibe about it but overall it’s spacious and does the trick!

IMG_5551

A few days before I booked online through their website – it was incredibly easy and I highly recommend doing so if you’re not super keen on calling. The James Cook Chancellor Hotel is an easy find on the Lambton Quay stretch – there an alleyway/street called the James Cook Arcade and there is a lift located in there which will take you straight up into the reception floor. All you need to do is go up another elevator to reach the restaurant – again, fairly simple.

Offers & Prices:

  • Classic High Tea – $28.50 per person
  • High Tea with Bubbles – $36.50 per person
  • Kids High Tea – $17.00 per child

Whitby’s High Tea Menu – Classic High Tea

Bottom Tier:
Sandwiches (Egg & Cucumber – Smoked Salmon) , Tempura Prawns, Vegetarian Sausage Rolls

Middle Tier:
Black Forest Gateau Cheesecake, Mango Creme Brûlée, Jasmine infused Panna Cotta, Vanilla Tea Cake, Hibiscus Strawberry Macaroon

Top Tier:
Blueberry Scones w/ cream and strawberry jam, Earl Grey Cookies, Chocolate Dipped Strawberries

IMG_5548

Bottom Tier Thoughts:
The bottom tier was fairly decent; I am vegetarian so I couldn’t eat two of the pieces (Salmon sandwiches & Tempura Prawn) but my two friends loved both especially the tempura prawns and I must say they did look pretty delicious! My favourite HAD to be the vegetarian sausage roll; on first inspection I did have to ask a staff member if they were vegetarian as they looked like real meat! I have never seen a vegetarian sausage roll with the colouring of meat – it was a lovely treat. The puff pastry was flaky, buttery and moreish, the meat inside was evenly spiced and was truly delicious.

IMG_5549

Middle Tier Thoughts:
The middle tier was my favourite – It was filled with all kinds of cakes and sweet treats. I thoroughly enjoyed the mango creme brûlée, it was like eating a creamy mango ice cream although it did lack that crunchy sugar layer that all creme brûlée should have. The black forest gateau cheesecake in theory sounded like an amazing idea but I found it to be a little lack luster; the cheesecake mixture itself was delicious and tangy but the cherries scattered in the mix tasted very odd, were they maraschino or glace – who knows? And there definitely wasn’t enough chocolate for my liking.

IMG_5550

Top Tier Thoughts:
By the top tier I was getting SERIOUSLY full; too much cake and not enough movement! I didn’t eat as much on of the top tier but thankfully I had company and they seriously loved the blueberry & white chocolate scones; I love the fact that they came with cream and strawberry jam if I wasn’t too full I would of had one! I only managed to eat one thing but I am so glad I did and that was the Earl Grey shortbread. It was perfection and probably my favourite piece of the High Tea; it was short, buttery and just melted in the mouth! Chocolate strawberries are just chocolate strawberries to me – they are lovely but nothing crazy exciting.

I don’t drink hot drinks (yes I am one of THOSE people) but my lovely friends did enjoy the unlimited supply of hot drinks – teas, coffee and hot chocolate. And I must say the staff were very attentive and talked us through all of our options which was the perfect amount of service for a high tea.

Here is the full menu for the High Tea

Overall thoughts:
Overall I think the Whitby’s High Tea was definitely good value for money – a classic high tea for one person values at $28.50 and for the service, food & unlimited supply of hot drinks; it was definitely a deal. This is my second high tea there and both times I enjoyed the overall experience and I also enjoyed the fact they have changed the menu since then first visit – it’s super important to improve menus especially over time.
I would give the Whitby’s High Tea seven scones with clotted cream and jam out of ten and I’ll definitely be back!

I hope y’all enjoyed this little review. After seeing Miss Charlotte Cake’s fantastic High Tea reviews I thought I would give it a go –  Check out Miss Charlotte Cake’s High Tea reviews here!
Let me know if you would like to see more reviews below.

2 thoughts on “Whitby’s High Tea – James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor – REVIEW

  1. I enjoyed this review! I always wonder about high teas because I’ve yet to come away feeling particularly excited. I’d love to read further reviews!

    Like

Leave a Reply

